Tuesday, 19 March 2019

Blog Tour ~ Keep Her Close by M J Ford



Jaffareadstoo is delighted to host today's final stop on the Keep Her Close Blog Tour


Avon
7 March 2019

My thanks to the publishers and Sabah for my copy of this book and the invitation to the blog tour

When a young girl goes missing from Jesus College Oxford, DS Josie Masters is plunged into a world of panic as fear grips the city. Along with Thames Valley Police’s newest recruit, the handsome DS Pryce, Josie must act fast – and when two more girls disappear from Oriel and Somerville colleges, she realises the killer is sending her a deadly message in a cruel game of cat and mouse. This time, the case is personal – but who is the perpetrator?

In a desperate race against the clock, Josie hunts for the kidnapper, and soon discovers he could be a lot closer to home than she’d ever thought…


My thoughts..

This is the second police procedural thriller to feature DS Josie Masters and we meet up with her just a few months after the traumatic events which happened in Hold My Hand, which is the first book. The opening chapter gives a brief insight into how Josie is now coping with the fall out from that first disturbing case before lunching us into a new and deadly investigation.

When a student goes missing from Oriel College, Oxford, Josie and her colleague DS Jack Pryce have to do all that they can to investigate a complicated crime which seems to be littered with inconsistencies and red herrings. It's really interesting to watch this police duo in action especially as the story progresses and their connection to each other gets more involved. The added complication of the disappearance of even more students leads to an investigation which, for Josie, gets more and more complicated and decidedly more personal.




I've really enjoyed reading Keep Her Close and, even though I hadn't read the first book, the author gives enough information about Josie Master's back story so that right from the start I felt in tune with the way she works. She's a bit of an individualist, deeply flawed by the events of her past and often quite vulnerable, and yet, she has a strong work ethic and all of the necessary commitment to duty which we expect from a high level detective.

The action moves along at a cracking pace which makes the story really easy to read in one sitting and I think it's one of those stories which benefits from reading quickly. There's so much scope for this series to run and run and I'm really looking forward to meeting up again with this enigmatic detective sergeant in future crime stories.


About the Author

M.J. Ford is back with a gripping new thriller, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and T.M. Logan

Twitter @MJFordBooks #KeepHerClose

@AvonBooksUK









No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment - Jaffa and I appreciate your interest.