Monday, 19 April 2021

πŸ“– Blog Tour ~ The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett

 

πŸ“– Delighted to host today's blog tour stop πŸ“– 


Boldwood Books
April 2021

My thanks to the publishers for my copy of this book
and to Rachel's Random Resources for the invitation to the blog tour


A fresh start...

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back.

But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal

her battered heart the place she once called home.

A new arrival...

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babiest’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson...the first man to break her heart.

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella’s chance to love again...

Meet The Cornish Midwives of Port Agnes where community, friendship and love are always delivered.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.


πŸ“– My thoughts..

The Cornish Midwife is the first in a proposed series of novels which are set in beautiful Cornwall. In this first book we meet Ella Mehenick who has recently returned to St Agnes to live with her parents who run the local bakery. Moving back to St Agnes was never high on Ella's agenda but after a disastrous event which changed the course of her life, Ella is determined to make a fresh start. Using her midwifery skills, Ella finds a temporary job working as a midwife in the local community team and it is there were she starts to put her life back together again.

The author writes with such warmth, and a touch of light humour, about this small corner of Cornwall and brings the charming village of St Agnes, and the people who live there, to gentle life. It was especially lovely to get to know the other inhabitants of the village, especially Ella's parents, who only have her best interests at heart, but who, it must be said, can seem a bit overpowering, and there's also the lovely Brae, a school friend of Ella's who runs the local fish and chip shop. However, it is in the 'will they, won't they' relationship between Ella and Dan Ferguson, her first true love, where the story starts to get romantically interesting.

The Cornish Midwife gets the series off to a good start and sets the scene really well for other characters to have their turn in the spotlight. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this lovely series heads to next and can't wait to return to the charming village of St Agnes.


About the Author




Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and live with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series part of a twelve book deal in April 2021.

Twitter @J_B_Writer




@BoldwoodBooks #boldwoodbloggers

@rararesources




No comments:

Post a comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment - Jaffa, Timmy and I appreciate your interest.