Monday, 13 August 2018

Blog Tour ~ Kiss of Death by Paul Finch



Jaffareadstoo is really excited to host today's stop on the Kiss of Death Blog Tour



A Deadly Hunt

DS ‘Heck’ Heckenburg has been tasked with retrieving one of the UK’s most wanted men. But the trail runs cold when Heck discovers a video tape showing the fugitive in a fight for his life. A fight he has no chance of winning.

A Dangerous Game

Heck realises that there’s another player in this game of cat and mouse, and this time, they’ve not just caught the prize: they’ve made sure no one else ever does.

A Man Who Plays With Fire

How far will Heck and his team go to protect some of the UK’s most brutal killers? And what price is he willing to pay?


Could this be the end for Heck?

The Sunday Times bestseller returns with an unforgettable crime thriller. Fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart MacBride won’t be able to put this down.

Don’t let them catch you…


What did I think about it...

The complex and convoluted investigation, code named Operation Sledgehammer, brings DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg into contact with a new partner, DC Gail Honeyford, who he worked with, some time ago, whilst on a previous investigation. Their new mission, as part of the Special Crime Unit, is to track down a number of cold cases and to discover the whereabouts of a vicious criminal who has evaded capture for far too long. This investigation is fraught with difficulty from the offset, and the complicated dynamics of working with Heckenburg makes for interesting reading.

I have to admit that this is the first book by this author I have read, and so to come into this crime series, at book seven, is perhaps not the best place to start. However, Kiss of Death works really well as a standalone novel, and whilst I have perhaps missed some of the more subtle references, particularly around Heck's complicated relationship with his boss, DSU Gemma Piper, there is no doubt that the overall complexity of both the plot and the characters works exceptionally well. Heck's rather maverick approach, and his often unorthodox investigative methods, help to give the story a realistic edginess. He’s definitely not a detective who plays it safe and that’s what makes this investigation so compelling.

The author writes with a credible authenticity which comes from his time as a police officer and also as a script writer for one of our most popular TV police dramas. This shows in the fine attention to detail and his clever ability to control a complicated plot without ever losing sight of the bigger picture. Kiss of Death is a very visual story, and is certainly something that I could, very easily, see played out as a TV drama, it has definite style and would work, really well, in terms of pace and tension.

The book concludes with a whopper of a cliff-hanger which I am sure will make regular followers of the series gasp out loud; it certainly leads the way for Book 8.






Paul Finch is a former cop and journalist, now turned full-time writer. He cut his literary teeth penning episodes of the British TV crime drama, The Bill, and has written extensively in the field of children’s animation and for Dr Who.

However, he is probably best known for his work in thrillers, crime and horror. His best known work to date is the DS Heckenburg crime series, the first three titles of which all attained official ‘best seller’ status.

Paul lives in Lancashire, UK, with his wife and children.





Twitter @paulfinchauthor #KissofDeath

@AvonBooksUK




No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment - Jaffa and I appreciate your interest.